Why you should upgrade to TOGAF 9.2 Certification

TOGAF is a vendor-neutral foundational framework used to develop any of the subsets of enterprise architecture which include Data Architecture, Information Architecture, Business Architecture, and Information Technology Architecture. It is used by organizations that want to improve business efficiency and increase their return on investment.

TOGAF is based on the U.S. Department of Defense TAFIM (Technical Architecture Framework for Information Management) which was developed as an IT management framework in the 1990s. TAFIM was used as a reference model to offer insight for EA (enterprise architecture) including how it should be structured, configured and maintained based on specific requirements.

TAFIM framework concepts were expanded, and in 1995, TOGAF was released. In 1999 TAFIM was eliminated from all process documentation and the Department of Defense stopped using it. Further releases of TOGAF were published as follows:

  • December 2001: TOGAF 7 ‘Technical Edition’ release
  • December 2002: TOGAF 8 ‘Enterprise Edition’ release
  • December 2003: TOGAF 8.1 release
    • In 2005 The Open Group took over TOGAF
  • November 2006: TOGAF 8.1.1 release
  • January 2009: TOGAF 9 release (more detail was added to the overall framework including additional guidelines and techniques)
  • December 2011: TOGAF 9.1 release (implemented in June 2012)
  • April 2018: TOGAF 9.2 (the latest version) release

What’s new in TOGAF version 9.2

TOGAF 9 was an evolution of TOGAF 8 that featured greater usability, greater consistency of output and a focus on holistic enterprise change.

TOGAF 9 was mainly focused on ensuring that specification content was structured in a modular way. Content from TOGAF 8.1.1 was classified and moved into a seven-part modular structure that allowed concepts in each module to be developed without too much impact on other modules.

Between TOGAF 9 and TOGAF 9.1, 400 improvements were made resulting from 450 comments being addressed. That said, there were no material differences to the direction or features between TOGAF 9 and TOGAF 9.1 but rather just a refinement of the existing framework.

Between TOGAF 9.1 and 9.2, the new features include:

  • Terminology has been added, and definitions have been further clarified
  • The TOGAF standard is now treated as a modular standard with parts broken down into a modular structure
  • The Business Architecture unit was expanded and developed
  • The Content Metamodel unit had a major update

More specifically, some of the new changes in TOGAF 9.2 are as follows:

1. TOGAF Library

The TOGAF Library is now an integral part of TOGAF standard with some chapters like, ‘Security Architecture and the ADM’ (previously Chapter 21), and ‘Using TOGAF to Define and Govern SOAs’ (previously Chapter 22) now a part of the TOGAF Library. Additionally, the entire TOGAF Reference Models (previously Part VI section of the TOGAF manual) has been moved to the TOGAF Library.

The TOGAF Library now includes a reference for templates, guidelines, patterns, and other reference material used to accelerate EA creation. Some additional reference material has also been announced for the future.

2.  The TOGAF standard is now a modular standard

Although most of the documentation is mainly the same, some key sections in the TOGAF text have been refined with minor updates, minor editorial improvements, and reordering of sub-sections. As such, TOGAF 9.2 has shrunk from 692 pages (in TOGAF 9.1) to the current 532 pages (in TOGAF 9.2).

The modular structure now allows updates to discrete modules without having to edit the core of the TOGAF manual.

For example, some chapters have been moved to the TOGAF Library while other chapters like the Release Notes on Chapter 4 have been deleted. Also, specific modules have been moved into the TOGAF Series Guides which are also separate from the main modules. Examples of the ‘TOGAF® Series Guides’ include:

  • Value Streams
  • Business Scenarios
  • Business Capabilities
  • Architecture Project Management

3.  Added terminology and clarified definitions

The Open Group has added definitions and clarified words previously defined as ‘common language,’ in order to prevent any confusion. The idea is to ensure that TOGAF continues to become a universal language of enterprise architecture.

4. Major update to the Content Metamodel Unit

The Content Metamodel Unit now illustrates how processes and documents relate within the architecture repository.

5. Business Architecture Model Unit has been expanded and developed

TOGAF 9.2 has been extended and grown in the following ways:

  • The execution of the Business Architecture Model (ADM) is now supported with documentation including the addition of ten new enterprise architecture artifacts in phase B-Business Architecture outputs.
  • ADM now highlights the importance of achieving business goals in EA.
  • ADM now adapts to the business model and capabilities

TOGAF 9.1 simply described some of the stages in the ADM without describing execution. With TOGAF 9.2 there is now a greater focus on Business Architecture phases and Architecture Vision.

Additionally, the Technology Architecture in 9.2 has been developed with a broader focus on:

  • Business transformation beyond IT and
  • Digital Trends

How version 9.2 updates affect TOGAF 9 certification

For those wondering what the impact of TOGAF 9.2 will be on their TOGAF 9 or TOGAF 9.1 certification, here is the main effect that will be realized:

  • There has been an increased emphasis on Digital Trends, Business Transformation beyond IT, and Business Architecture Training.
  • The Business Architecture domain has additions
  • The importance of the TOGAF library has been accentuated, and the structure of the TOGAF standard has changed
  • ISO/IEC/IEEE 42010:2011 standards have been adopted into the TOGAF 9.2 standard
  • The Content Framework and Metamodel has changes
  • A TOGAF credentials Program has been added
  • Some terms and definitions in the TOGAF standard have been changed

Despite these changes’ in the curriculum and structure of TOGAF 9 and 9.1 to TOGAF 9.2, the TOGAF 9.2 exam has the same format as the TOGAF 9.1 exam.  You are required to pass Level 1: TOGAF 9 Foundation exam before proceeding to Level 2: TOGAF 9 Certified exam. Another alternative is to take a combined Level 1 and Level 2 exam.

The Open Group has created a comprehensive overview of what is to be expected in the exams by piecing together all examinable content from TOGAF 9.2 documentation. References to ‘Key Learning Points’ and ‘Key Learning Outcomes’ have been outlined.

How can you take TOGAF 9.2 certification to upgrade yourself?

If you haven’t taken your TOGAF exams yet or if you are considering an upgrade, there is probably, no better time to do so than now. For starters, there is a lot less content to revise from a previous 692 pages to the current 532 pages. A reduced 160 pages of content will make studying much more manageable. The ‘reduced’ content has been moved to the ‘TOGAF Series Guides’ which are optional amendments to the main TOGAF 9.2 documentation.

Of course, instead of studying on your own, you can take a Combined Level 1 & 2  training course and learn from instructors and fellow students before taking the exams and getting certified.


Although the changes to TOGAF 9.2 are primarily a minor increment rather than a substantial enhancement, upgrading to TOGAF 9.2 certification is highly encouraged for several reasons including improvements in structure, clarified definitions, and focused material. You can also find TOGAF 9.2 Certification in Riyadh. These changes mean that it will be a lot easier to study the material and therefore pass the exam and get certified.